The Sprint Unlimited at Daytona – Race Coverage and Details

by Chuck Tolsma on February 15, 2013

It’s just an hourĀ  until the NASCAR racing season kicks off with the newly named Sprint Unlimited (formerly known as the Budweiser Shootout.) The Gen 6 race car will be making its first appearance in this non-points race. I have gathered the details for the race below and will continue to update this post through race day. Let me know if I’ve missed anything you are looking for. Enjoy the race!

The official entry list was released! See the update below. Practice speeds updated below!

Sprint Unlimited at Daytona Race Results are in:

POSDriverCar #MFGStartLapsLaps LedStatus
1Kevin Harvick29Chevrolet177540Running
2Greg Biffle16Ford4752Running
3Joey Logano22Ford9750Running
4Tony Stewart14Chevrolet15755Running
5Matt Kenseth20Toyota127526Running
6Aric Almirola43Ford8750Running
7Kasey Kahne5Chevrolet3750Running
8Dale Earnhardt Jr88Chevrolet16750Running
9Martin Truex Jr56Toyota6752Running
10Juan Pablo Montoya42Chevrolet14750Running
11Marcos Ambrose9Ford10750Running
12Carl Edwards99Ford1750Running
13Kurt Busch78Chevrolet18150Accident
14Jimmie Johnson48Chevrolet11140Accident
15Denny Hamlin11Toyota5140Accident
16Kyle Busch18Toyota13140Accident
17Jeff Gordon24Chevrolet7140Accident
18Mark Martin55Toyota2140Accident
19Terry Labonte32Ford1920Vibration

The fans have voted for the starting positions for the race tonight. The field be started in order of 2012 pole wins by earliest date. Carl Edwards is on the pole.

Here are the race coverage and details for the NASCAR Sprint Unlimited at Daytona:

Where: Daytona International Speedway at Daytona Beach, Florida (2.5 mile paved Superspeedway; 75 laps broken into segments of 30-25-20.)

Date: Saturday, February 16, 2013

Time: 8:10 p.m.

Sprint Unlimited Green Flag Time: 8:29 p.m.

TV: SPEED TV (pre-race at 6:30 p.m.) and Fox (race at 8 p.m.)

Radio: MRN – Motor Racing Network and Sirius NASCARĀ  Radio channel 90. MRN will stream the race.

Tickets: Click here.

Twitter Hash Tag: #SprintUnlimited

Twitter List: Hit Your Marks NASCAR list

Fan vote for race format: Click here.

Sprint Unlimited Practice: Friday, February 15th at 5 p.m. and 6:30 p.m, – SPEED TV coverage

Sprint Unlimited Practice Results: See below.

Sprint Cup Practice: Saturday, February 16th – 1st from 11-1 p.m.; 2nd from 2-3:45 p.m. – SPEED TV coverage

Sprint Cup Practice Results: TBD

Entry List: 19 drivers officially entered (A.J. Allmendinger, Bill Elliott, and Terry Labonte did not enter.)
2012 pole winners:
Aric Almirola
Marcos Ambrose
Greg Biffle
Kyle Busch
Dale Earnhardt, Jr.
Carl Edwards
Jeff Gordon
Denny Hamlin
Jimmie Johnson
Matt Kenseth
Kasey Kahne
Joey Logano
Mark Martin
Juan Pablo Montoya
Tony Stewart
Martin Truex, Jr.
Past winners:
Kurt Busch
Kevin Harvick
Terry Labonte (replaced Ken Schrader on 2/15 on official entry list)

Race Lineup: To be determined by a fan vote by those in attendance at the race. Options are to start cars by 2012 driver points, early date of 2012 pole, or career wins.

Race Results: TBD

Fantasy: 2012 Budweiser Shootout winner – Kyle Busch; 2012 Shootout Results

Odds: Dale Earnhardt, Jr among favorites to win the Sprint Unlimited per the Sporting News.

Weather: Daytona Beach Nexrad Radar.

Sprint Unlimited Practice 1 Speeds:

POSDriverCar #MakeSponsorSpeed
1Kevin Harvick29ChevroletBudweiser197.364
2Aric Almirola43FordSmithfield197.316
3Greg Biffle16Ford3M197.109
4Kasey Kahne5ChevroletFarmers Insurance197.04
5Martin Truex Jr56ToyotaNAPA Auto Parts197.036
6Dale Earnhardt Jr88ChevroletNational Guard196.751
7Juan Pablo Montoya42ChevroletTarget196.64
8Kurt Busch78ChevroletFurniture Row Racing196.61
9Matt Kenseth20ToyotaDollar General196.374
10Kyle Busch18ToyotaM&M's196.374
11Joey Logano22FordShell-Pennzoil196.027
12Denny Hamlin11ToyotaFedEx Express195.984
13Mark Martin55ToyotaAaron's Dream Machine195.912
14Carl Edwards99FordFastenal195.822
15Jeff Gordon24ChevroletDrive To End Hunger195.037
16Tony Stewart14ChevroletMobil 1 / Bass Pro Shops195.033
17Marcos Ambrose9FordStanley194.393
18Terry Labonte32190.929
19Jimmie Johnson48ChevroletLowe's Yellow188.486

Sprint Unlimited Practice 2 Speeds:

111Denny HamlinFedEx Express Toyota196.053
222Joey LoganoShell Pennzoil Ford196.014
316Greg Biffle3M Ford195.656
429Kevin HarvickBudweiser Chevrolet195.656
543Aric AlmirolaSmithfield Ford195.537
642Juan Pablo MontoyaTarget Chevrolet193.582
75Kasey KahneFarmers Insurance Chevrolet193.017
89Marcos AmbroseStanley Ford192.868
918Kyle BuschM&M's Toyota191.612
1032Terry LabonteC&J Energy Services Ford191.408
1124Jeff GordonDrive to End Hunger Chevrolet190.961
1248Jimmie JohnsonLowe's Yellow Chevrolet190.118

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: